استوري للمزادات

auction websites

بدايات صناعة الزجاج في مدينة سامراء في القرن التاسع ، العراق

artifact auction sites

When one thinks of glasswork, the first city that comes to mind is Venice. However, unknown to many, one of the earliest signs of ornamental and decorative glassworks was found in the city of Samarra, Iraq.

كانت مدينة سامراء ، عاصمة الخلافة العباسية السابقة ، موطنًا لصناعة متطورة لإنتاج الزجاج وتجارته وفقًا للقطع الأثرية التي فحصها فريق من المركز الوطني الفرنسي للبحث العلمي. هذه العاصمة القديمة لسامراء التي يعود تاريخها إلى 836-892 تقدم دليلاً بارزًا على الخلافة العباسية التي كانت الإمبراطورية الإسلامية الكبرى في تلك الفترة ، والتي امتدت من تونس إلى آسيا الوسطى. تشير حقيقة استخدام الزجاج عالي الجودة لتزيين قصر الخلافة الرئيسي بالمدينة إلى أن الزجاج كان ذا قيمة ثقافية واقتصادية كبيرة في ذلك الوقت.

المشغولات الزجاجية من سامراء ، بما في ذلك مجموعة من أنواع الأواني ، والخصائص البصرية ، وتقنيات الزخرفة
[من: الصور A و C و D من متحف فيكتوريا وألبرت ، لندن ؛ الصور B و E من متحف fürislamische Kunst / Staatliche Museenzu Berlin]

يشير التحليل الذي أجراه علماء الآثار إلى أن مدينة سامراء ، الواقعة في العراق حاليًا ، كانت مركزًا لصناعة الزجاج والتجارة منذ 1200 عام. عثرت الحفريات الأثرية المتعددة على مدى سنوات عديدة على مجموعة غير عادية من الأواني الزجاجية من الموقع. كشفت الدراسة الجديدة أن العديد من القطع الأثرية الملونة والحساسة صنعت في سامراء نفسها.
عند فحص 265 قطعة أثرية تم اكتشافها سابقًا في متاحف في إنجلترا وألمانيا ، وجد الباحثون بقيادة نادين شيبيل أنه على الرغم من استيراد بعض الزجاج من جميع أنحاء الإمبراطورية ، وخاصة بلاد الشام ومصر ، إلا أن معظم القطع كانت متشابهة جدًا في التركيب الكيميائي الذي تم إنتاجه على الأرجح في سامراء نفسها.

تم فحص العناصر التي تضمنت أوعية ومصابيح وزجاجات وأكواب وأدوات زخرفية ، باستخدام مقياس الطيف الكتلي ، لتحديد العناصر التي قدمت أدلة على الأصل الجغرافي لمواد المصدر. من هذا ، يمكن للباحثين تحديد المنطقة التي جاء منها كل عنصر ، وكذلك جودة القطع النهائية. ربما ليس من المستغرب أنهم وجدوا أن المواد عالية الجودة قد تم إنتاجها لاستخدامها في قصر الخليفة الرئيسي بالمدينة.

Estuary Auctions

auction websites

Early Glass Industry in Ninth-century City of Samarra, Iraq

artifact auction sites

When one thinks of glasswork, the first city that comes to mind is Venice. However, unknown to many, one of the earliest signs of ornamental and decorative glassworks was found in the city of Samarra, Iraq.

The place-city of Samarra, capital of the former Abbasid Caliphate was home to an advanced industry of glass production and trade according to archaeological artifacts examined by a team from France National Center for Scientific Research. This ancient capital of Samarra dating from 836-892 provides outstanding evidence of the Abbasid Caliphate which was the major Islamic empire of the period, extending from Tunisia to Central Asia. The fact that the highest quality glass was used to decorate the city’s main caliphal palace suggests that the glass was of great cultural and economic value at this time.

Glass artifacts from Samarra, including a range of vessel types, optical properties, and decorative techniques
[Credit: Images A, C and D from the Victoria and Albert Museum, London; images B and E from the Museum fürislamische Kunst/Staatliche Museenzu Berlin]

Analysis conducted by the archeologists suggests that the city of Samarra, located in present-day Iraq, was a hub of glass-making and trade 1200 years ago. Multiple archaeological excavations over many years recovered an extraordinary range of glassware from the site. The new study reveals that many of the colorful and delicate artifacts were made in Samarra itself.
Examining 265 previously discovered artifacts held by museums in England and Germany, the researchers, led by Nadine Schibille, found that although some of the glass had been imported from around the empire, especially the Levant and Egypt, most of the pieces were so similar in chemical composition that they were most likely produced in Samarra itself.

The items, which included bowls, lamps, bottles, glasses, and decorative ware, were examined using mass spectrometry, to identify trace elements that offered clues to the geographical origin of the source materials. From this, the researchers could determine the region from where each item came, as well as the quality of the finished pieces. Perhaps unsurprisingly, they found the highest quality material had been produced for use in the city’s main caliphal palace.